On October 25, 1901, the Kingdom of Nkore was incorporated into the British protectorate of Uganda by the signing of the Ankole Agreement. [3] Ankole (Runyankore: Nkore), was a traditional Bantu kingdom in Uganda. The kingdom is located in southwestern Uganda, east of Lake Edward. It was ruled by a monarch known as Mugabe or Omugabe. The kingdom was officially abolished in 1967 by the government of President Milton Obote, and since then the kingdom has not been officially restored. [2] The inhabitants of Ankole are called Banyankole (singular: Munyankole) in the Runyankole language, a Bantu language. The kingdom of Nkore was divided into ten counties. These districts are now divided into different political constituencies. But the original ten counties of Nkore include: This article contains public domain material from the Library of Congress` National Studies website lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/.

Due to the reorganization of the country by Idi Amin, Ankole no longer exists as an administrative unit. It is divided into ten districts, namely: Bushenyi District, Buhweju District, Mitooma District, Rubirizi District, Sheema District, Ntungamo District, Mbarara District, Kiruhura District, Ibanda District and Isingiro District. The Nkore calendar was divided into 12 months. They were named after weather conditions and activities during this period. These include.. .